Musik des Nordens

Edvard Grieg  (1843-1907)

Peer Gynt Suite I op. 46

Carl Nielsen (1865 – 1931)

5 Klavierstücke op. 5

Erkki-Sven Tüür (* 1959)

Klaviersonate (1985)


Jean Sibelius  (1865-1957)

Kyllikki op. 41

Arvo Pärt (* 1935)

Variationen zur Gesundung von Arinuschka (1977)

Für Alina (1976)

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)

Klavierstücke nach eigenen Lieder

Des Dichters Herz op. 52 Nr 3

Solveigs Lied op. 52 Nr 4

Ich liebe dich op. 41 Nr 3


This moderated concert is a musical journey from Scandinavia along the Baltic Sea to the Baltic States. Well-known elements of Norwegian, Danish and Finnish folklore meet new and innovative sounds from Estonia. The lively and grounded musical voice of Edvard Grieg, whose often programmatic titles  draw from Norwegian customs and legends, has captivated the public for decades. Rarely heard piano works by Jean Sibelius and Carl Nielsen deepen the insight into the Nordic music world, which fascinates with a cool elegance and a depth that does not require pathos.


Contemporary works from Estonia create an exciting contrast to the romanticism of Scandinavia. While the piano sonata by Erkki-Sven Tüür has an almost hypnotic effect due to its sound layers and dramatic increases, the calmness of the minimalist piano pieces by Arvo Pärt, the so-called "composer of silence", has its own magic.